Most Popular Posts
Showing posts with label Adaptiva Content removal. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Adaptiva Content removal. Show all posts
Tuesday, 9 June 2015
Adaptiva OneSite - Forcing a device to become an RVP
An RVP in the world of Adaptiva OneSite is a client that is selected as the 'master' for the subnet, all clients on that subnet will speak to it as their first port of call for content etc. The election process used by Adaptiva OneSite is very good and will generally select the best client, uptime is first of all considered, followed by chassis type, etc.
However sometimes you may wish to force a client to become an RVP or even prohibit it from becoming an RVP, in order to do this locate the following registry key:
x64: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\javasoft\prefs\Adaptiva\client
x32: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\javasoft\prefs\Adaptiva\client
The key is contentsystem.client_type, this can be set to one of the following values:
0 = Standard Client
1 = Preferred Client
-1 = Prohibited Client
Set this and restart the AdaptivaClient Service and the client should behave as you have set. You can verify successful RVP election via the Adaptiva Workbench, Network Topology perspective.
Cheers
Wayne
Adaptiva OneSite Content AutoPush Policy Configuration
When creating auto push policies in Adaptiva OneSite as a best practice keep the number of objects below 100 per policy.
Having very large policies causes extra processing on the client side and can seriously impact performance, I have seen environments in which all content was being autopushed to all machines, this seriously impacted the product and the strain it caused on the clients and content refresh cycles were incredibly vigorous causing big delays and slowdown.
Whilst I am on this topic it is also worth noting that setting content Auto push policies to 2 hours is more than adequate and again best practice, ASAP is not (as you might think) the better option here.
Cheers
Wayne
Adaptiva Content Removal
Once content has made its way across the WAN to a client, especially over a slow link, we must be very careful not to make any changes that could cause the client to have to re-download this content (think a WIM + all updates and runtimes! :\ )
There are a few circumstances under which content will be removed from a client, these are listed below:
Wayne
There are a few circumstances under which content will be removed from a client, these are listed below:
- If you have auto-publishing enabled (and you should!) if the content is unpublished within the Adaptiva Workbench it will be removed from client devices
- If the Content is deleted from Configuration Manager it will be removed from client devices
- If the content has become corrupted will be removed from client devices (we cant really avoid this one)
- If the hard drive space on the local machine is nearing empty and space is required by the user or Operating System/OS. In this case the content that is most prominent on the subnet will be removed from the machines cache.
Wayne
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)
